If you drink the Kool-Aid, know the ingredients

I like to think that I am pretty good at doing a bit of background checking before I commit to most things (except shoes, if they look good, I’ll just buy them!).  So, when I recently found out that something I had accepted as being OK, is actually not OK, I realiised I had drunk the Kool Aid without knowing the ingredients.
If something is presented to you in a dynamic, inspirational way and is not backed up with any information about where it came from or what research has been undertaken to prove that it works, trust me, you need to find out for yourself.  There is no excuse for being ill informed anymore and you don’t need to accept things just because everyone else does.

I drank the Kool-Aid because everyone around me was, I got caught up in the moment and my rational thought ceased to exist – I won’t ever do it again!  Ever.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. David Bentley
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 00:55:31

    Ahhh yes. How easy it is to get drawn in. If there is one thing we have in abundance today it is access to information. If we choose, we can review multiple sources (hopefully reliable ones) but we must never stop challenging our beliefs. An open mind is a wonderful thing. Beliefs have no place in rational 21st Century thinking. Either something is factually correct or it is not. Belief is irrelevant.If you believe something that is counter to the established evidence (or common sense) you had better have powerful and verifiable evidence otherwise you are fooling yourself. Just look at all the people who got caught up in the immunisation scare when the whole thing was a fraud from the start. Now we have diseases that we had virtually wiped out making a comeback! Unbelievable. The old adage- Question Everything has never been more important as is the old Russian philosophy – Trust but Verify… How does it go- Fool me once????

    Reply

Leave a Reply

