Get your courage on

I learnt about courage from two of my favourite  screen characters,  Atticus Finch and Rocky Balboa.  The behaviours that both these characters displayed had a huge impact on me and I have often thought about what they would do when I have been in situations where I have needed to stand my ground.

You can imagine how I felt when, recently someone I truly respect thanked me for my courage.  It was the highest compliment I could ever receive.

I’ve been reflecting on courage and what it means.  I know that to Atticus Finch, courage is all about the ability to  keep going even when you know you can’t win.  Rocky’s idea of courage is that it doesn’t matter how many times you get hit, it’s how many times you get back up that counts.  To me, courage is about standing up for what is right, even if it means putting yourself in the firing line.

If I can make a difference by being courageous, by standing up for what is right, by challenging those things that just don’t make sense and by encouraging others to do the same, then together we might just change the world!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rmckercher@shine.com.au
    Nov 18, 2012 @ 08:52:59

    Courage is spelt—– J U D Y… X

    Reply

  2. lista de email
    Dec 15, 2012 @ 12:07:43

    i wish i could write as well as you do in your blog, congratulations. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

    Reply

  3. lista de emails
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 13:53:23

    simply, admirable what you have done here. it is pleasing to look you express from the heart. remarkable post and will look forward to your future update. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

    Reply

Leave a Reply

