Q: Who am I? A: My friends…

I’ve just read an interesting piece of research (yes, some research is interesting!) called “The Framingham Heart Study”.  I found the study mentioned in the latest blog post by Penelope Trunk

Any study is hard to condense into a few lines so if you like detail, read the study in full here.  Basically the study found that you are likely to behave in a similar manner to your friends.  If your friends are big drinkers, then you are likely to exhibit that behaviour, if your friends are overweight, then so might you be.  On the positive side, you are more likely to be healthy and active if your friends are that way.

This got me thinking about my friends and the behaviours they practice, which, in turn, will affect my behaviours.  I’ve compiled a list of my closest friends and what I have learnt from them.

Here they are, in no particular order

David – everything!

Bella – unconditional love and sass!

Robyn – rational logic can go hand in hand with silliness, money is for spending

Vicki –  inner calm, peacefulness, persistence

Leah – live in the wow! it will all work out in the end

Rachel – mindfulness, thoughtfulness and a balanced approach to life

Lorrae – keep moving, stay young, use products if you need enhancement

Jacqui – let life be messy, indulge in retail therapy

Collin – it’s OK to be crazy, it’s OK to think you are a super hero

Damon – youth is not wasted on the young, live a Rock Star life

Looking at this list, I feel really fortunate to have a group of friends who enrich my life in so many ways and if the study is right and I exhibit these behaviours then I think I’m doing OK!

What behaviours do your friends practice?

If you made a list like I did, what would it look like?

Do you exhibit similar positive (and negative) behaviours as your friends?

Share

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 07:53:00

    Judy, this is just lovely. I am going to do a list of my own…and on it would be: Judy- give yourself permission to be 100% you, because living like that is just delicious.

    Reply

  2. Vicki
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 07:57:47

    I think you are right. Friends do influence our behaviour. I am going to make a list. I think I need to meet some of your other friends, I need some of their traits! wonderful blog post.

    Reply

  3. Robyn
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 03:08:38

    I love that Judy!! I am going to do this too!
    Of course I am starting with you!

    Judy – not being afraid to put it out there and ask for what you want; grasp your inner goddess and live her.

    Reply

  4. Collin
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 08:24:48

    Love it! Although what do you mean by “think” you are a super hero?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

