May I Poll You?

I need your opinion on something. Here’s the thing…recently I went for a job interview and I was told at the interview that I would be called back in a very specific timeframe. I wasn’t…

So, is this something that would bother you?

Do you expect that if someone, in a professional capacity, tells you they will do something for you within a specific time that they will follow through within the timeframe that they indicate? In other words, do I have overly high expectations of people???

If they don’t follow through, how do you react and what actions do you take?

How does this impact, if at all, on your perception of the person and the company?

I’d be very interested in your thoughts and then I will share with you a great tip that I received from a friend on how to manage a situation like this.

I look forward to hearing from you…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 21:57:45

    I think I would infer a lot about the organisation from this – how they treat their people etc. My response would depend on how much I want the job – my instinct would be to walk away and look for something else. However if I really wanted the job, I might choose to give them the benefit of the doubt and send them a friendly 'Just checking where you are up to with the selection process, is there anything I can do to be helpful' enquiry.Looking forward to hearing the tip!

    Reply

  2. Simstudent
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 02:52:22

    I am so big on doing what you say you are going to do, otherwise you set the other person(s)up to think that it's okay to treat you a certain way. I have had a psychological contract broken by an employer and I have left the organisation due to the situation I found myself in. The second they lowered the bar, I was worried i'd believe that way, or achieve lower than i'd currently been achieving. I left to protect my work ethic. I think organisations that don't follow through on promises can expect a very negative culture within their organisation!!!

    Reply

  3. veganprime
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 01:22:18

    This would totally bug me….unless they called to apologise and to explain why they hadn't gotten back to you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

