Face the Facts?

I just got an iPhone! I’m really excited because I have wanted one for a while now. The reason it took me so long to get one is in fact a story about virtual vs face to face communication.

Here’s how it goes…

Several weeks ago I popped online to my current phone provider’s website and applied for an iPhone using the online application form. A red message came back saying I had to contact the customer service line. OK, I did that and was told that my current contract had about 5 months to go. This meant that I had to pay quite a large sum of money to exit that contract and open a new one with an iPhone. Of course, I pleaded with the person on the other end of the phone about what a good customer I was, how long I had been with the provider and how much I really, really, really needed an iPhone. No luck.

A few days after that painful experience I got a call from the provider asking if I was happy with the service. Of course, I brought up the iPhone incident and was again told the amount I would have to pay to make this happen.

Not wanting to indulge myself in any more disappointment, I gave up the idea of getting an iPhone and worked hard to forget I ever wanted one (which is really difficult when you are surrounded by people who have one)

When I had some trouble with my phone last night, I was motivated to begin the iPhone campaign again. This time, I was going to be smarter in my approach – I was going into the store to get some face time with the human iPhone dispenser! His name turned out to be Chris.

To cut a long story short, I now have my iPhone, with it’s purple case and it cost a lot less than I would have had to pay if I had undertaken the transaction over the phone. I also had a fabulous customer service experience..thanks Chris!

So, that started me thinking…What else might I be missing in my virtual transactions/interactions? Is face to face interaction more powerful than virtual interaction? Was it time for me to “face the facts” and start putting more effort and energy into the whole face to face thing?

How many of your daily interactions/transactions are conducted in a virtual environment? Does your whole world revolve around social networking sites? Have you actually communicated with anyone face to face in the last week?

Do yourself a favour, go out and make contact with someone today – you never know what’s in it for…both of you!

Leave a Reply

