Thinking about…thinking

A few days ago I was deep into a mid life crisis wondering what I was going to be when I grew up. I had a plan and was working towards that but then I changed the plan or maybe the plan changed me…

I took some time out of the workforce to pursue some study knowing that the study would lead me into a different career. I am currently working as a casual in the proposed new career. Then everything changed.

I started thinking about…thinking and things started to come undone. A key question that kept coming to mind was “how is what I am currently doing enriching my life?” “Why am I doing this?” “What value am I adding to the world?” In essence, I had lost my way.

So, I spoke to a good friend – actually I vented to a good friend and then turned to one of my favourite authors and thinkers, Seth Godin, for inspiration. I figured out that I had almost become part of the machine, the place where you think about…nothing…you just do. This didn’t sit well with me.

I had a rethink and decided to throw everything out and start again. It always amazes me when I do this because suddenly a lot of cool things start coming my way. I was referred to a book by a friend and then another book popped up in a blog I read and I contacted the author and she actually emailed me back and now I feel as if I have started a new journey.

It might even provide the answer to “what will I be when I grow up?”

What thoughts might you have if your thinking was about…thinking?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristal
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 10:33:43

    I'm so glad someone else still asks the question 'what will I be when I grow up?'. I often us this and get told off by people.. 'You already are grown up!'. And you may question if what your are doing currently is enriching your life.. but I can tell you, you are enriching the lives of students like myself. It's not often you have the opportunity to be in the classroom of a passionate, engaging teacher such as yourself!

    Reply

  2. Deanna Lane
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 03:02:31

    Congratulations Judy, to have the courage to stop and think about what you are really doing here, the difference you make and the choice to do something that serves your purpose in life. What an inspiration… as that great philosopher Ferris Bueller once said, "life moves pretty quickly, if you don't stop once in a while… you just might miss it. Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

